Pension Trustees

The Pension Trustees are responsible for the Church's three defined benefit pension schemes, which are now closed to future accrual and new members.

The schemes are for:

  • Ministers and Overseas Missionaries (including sections for Ministers Main Pension Fund, Widows and Orphans and the Contributors Fund)
  • Staff (including sections for staff of the Social Care Council and of the Central Services Committee)
  • Ministries Development Staff (previously know as the scheme for Presbytery and Parish Workers)

The benefits provided by the three pension schemes differ in detail, but all exist to provide a pension to the scheme member. Members of these schemes also have the option to make additional voluntary contributions.

The Pension Trustees' remit

The Trustees' duties and powers are detailed in Trust law, pensions acts and other regulations, but their main duty is to administer the pension schemes and invest the scheme funds accordingly.

The investment of the funds is delegated to external investment managers under the guidelines and investment principles set up by the Trustees.

Statement of Investment Principles

Implementation Statements


The General Assembly may appoint up to six Employer nominated Trustees. Scheme members may nominate up to three Member Nominated Trustees. The chairperson is Graeme Caughey.

Current Trustees

Contact details

For further information, please contact us by email at or by telephone on 0131 240 2255